Curtin University of Technology

Curtin-University-of-TechnologyCurtin University of  Technology is an institution of higher education in Perth, Western Australia. It was founded in 1966 as the Western Australian Institute of Technology (WAIT). The roots of the institute went back to the founding of Perth Technical College, which opened in 1900. In 1986, the institute was granted university status and was renamed in honor of John Curtin. Curtin had served as Australia’s prime minister from 1941 to 1945.

Curtin University of Technology was the first Australian university to provide educational services to the Southeast Asia region. The student body includes international students from many countries. Many students study on overseas campuses in Malaysia and Singapore. Curtin has campuses in Bentley, Kalgoorlie, Margaret River, Northam, Perth City, Shenton Park, and Sydney. In addition to the research centers in each of the major academic disciplines, the university is a major partner in cooperative research centers in such fields as hydrometallurgy, petroleum research, landscape environments and mineral exploration, telecommunications research, and renewable energy research.